The History of Delta Upsilon at The University
The Virginia Chapter was the first chapter to be installed south of the Mason-Dixon Line. Delta Upsilon was founded in 1922 from a local organization known as the Delta Alpha Social Society. It grew steadily in stature and numbers until World War II when the chapter was temporarily closed due to the war. The chapter was reactivated in the spring of 1949, and the reactivating nucleus of twenty-four men energetically proceeded to establish the essential factors of an integral fraternity.
In 1960 the house was located at 170 Rugby Road and had been completely fitted with new furnishings to provide a home for twenty-four of the brothers, as well as serving as headquarters for the business activities and social functions of the chapter as a whole. In 1967, the closing and subsequent reopening, resulted in a Delta Upsilon that embodied the traditional aspects of a fraternity with the vigor and intensity of a new and reactivated group.
In June 1969, arson destroyed the house at 170 Rugby Road, forcing the chapter to relocate temporarily to the present-day Theta sorority house on Chancellor Street. After Beta Theta Pi’s charter was revoked in the early seventies, DU was able to purchase Beta’s former house at 180 Rugby Road, renovate it, and move in in time for the fall 1973 school year.
In September 2010, the chapter moved to a new house built at 171 Madison Lane — the first new fraternity house constructed at the University in over fifty years.
Today we are part of an institution with a proud heritage linked closely to the University, which has thrived over the decades as a place of social, academic, and athletic leadership. More importantly, DU has defined our U.Va. experience by forging friendships at a dynamic and challenging point in our lives.